Skip to content

Preaching to the choir.

March 13, 2014

Preaching

Sometimes, preaching to the choir can be productive. Last night, I gave a presentation at our local authors club, The Authors Connection. This club was instrumental in getting my book published. The club was formed by Susan Klaus and is going strong. Susan’s latest work is Secretariat Reborn. If you’re a thriller reader, check it out.

My book came to be published because a speaker at the club, Ron Klein, did a presentation about using Createspace.com to publish your book. I was hooked. In no time at all, my book was in print, and the rest was history. It was my turn to “give back,” to the club.

I talked about book trailers. As I’ve noted many times before, on this blog, I detest most book trailers  (Jan 16, 2012 and Jun 30, 2011). It isn’t that I dislike trailers, I just dislike how many of them totally suck. The presentation last night was intended to show a few good ones and show the members how to create a “low budget” yet effective trailer. The intent wasn’t to show the authors things that they could mimic. The purpose was to give them ideas. They’re creative people, most of them will come up with something even better.

The very first thing I did in the meeting, was record a short two-minute book trailer. It was the simplest kind: an author talking to the camera. I chose discussing why the reader should read Three Hundred Zeroes. The purpose wasn’t so much to make a trailer as it was to demonstrate how to record the video, put it on the computer, and then upload it to Youtube.com. Filming this live was a gamble. A slow link could take 15-20 minutes, but fortunately, it only took about a minute. My fallback plan was to start the upload, and then play a few favorite book trailers while we waited. I didn’t have to.

The pressure was on me, as the presenter, to nail the video correctly, the first time. There was no time to do a retake. Luckily, it went well, although my trailer was a little “stiff.” You can see it here: 

 

Prior to the meeting, I posted the notes at: Book Trailers for Sarasota Authors Connection. My intention was to give the audience an interactive page where they could view the trailers in more detail and my comments on why I chose those trailers. This eliminates their having to take notes and get web addresses incorrectly. Following the meeting, I included a link to the book trailer we did on location (which I obviously had to add later!).

I cannot attest to the quality of any of the books, I was merely interested in their trailers. They all had something that I liked about them, but perhaps not everything. Look that page over, watch some of the trailers and let me know what you think. Do you agree, or disagree? Do you know of a book trailer that you REALLY like or dislike? Post a comment, we’d like to hear from you.

Photo is Creative Commons, courtesy of Boston Library.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

