Skip to content

Nice Video Introducing Women Of The Way.

January 16, 2012
by

I’m prone to condemn book trailers. I’ve written about the topic on this blog on several occasions. My main complaint is they all look too much alike. I won’t go into the details, check the previous postings, or just go to youtube.com and search “book trailers” and you’ll see what I mean.

Okay, having said all that, I’ve recently helped my spouse, Jane, in putting a pre-book trailer together. Pre-book because she hasn’t finished writing the book yet: WOMEN OF THE WAY. She gave a presentation at the Appalachian Trail Club of Florida and has a very interesting collection of photos of the Camino de Santiago. She wanted to close the presentation with a quick series of photos, accompanied by music. This video was an outgrowth of that need.

This whole process of creating a video of only a little over three minutes ending up being an extensive learning experience for me. I took photos, put them in the Open Office Impress presentation software. From there, I took them and imported them into the Windows Live Movie Maker that came with my version of Windows 7. That was fairly painless, but then came the real challenge: the music. Attaching music to the presentation wasn’t that difficult, but if I wanted to put this presentation on Youtube.com, I had to deal with legal issues around licensing of the music. I really wanted to put Celine Dion’s “I’m Alive” track in for music, but just couldn’t overcome the legal obstacles that I found.

Finally, Jane found some music with an inexpensive license at: Music Bakery. It’s a beautiful rendition of Pachelbel’s Canon in D Minor. The download and full license to use it is $47. Compared to what might be $15,000 for the Dion music, it was a no brainer.

In a future blog I will discuss the issues around the process of a do-it-yourself book trailer. It really isn’t that difficult, but there are hurdles.

Check out the trailer at:

Women of the Way on Youtube

and let us know what you think. Did you like it? Was it worth the effort? Did you “Like” it at Youtube? Did you leave a comment? Suggestions?

Readers, we love comments here, so feel free…

Dennis

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

