Skip to content

How Does An Author Write About Their Dog(s)?

August 16, 2011
by
Buddy

Buddy

I’ve written three non-fiction stories…all about dogs and I would have to say that my strategy changed for each one. For Finally Home, which is a compilation of stories about my golden retriever, Buddy, it was more like taking a trip down memory lane, recalling each instance as a timeline in my mind. I never went into adopting a dog with the idea of writing a book about him, but his comedic ways made my mind up for me.

With Final Journey, it was more of a ‘write as it happened’ type thing. Since I was experiencing the grief and knowledge that my dog was dying, I wrote my emotions down as they were happening; sort of like a healthy release. Again, I wasn’t quite sure I would make it into a book, but the more I wrote how I felt, the more that I thought about others who are going through the same thing. I figured that they would find solace in reading about similar experiences.

My third non-fiction, My Dog Does That! was more of an observation/ reminiscent type of book that doesn’t follow any timelines, but mere observations of the funny things that all dogs do without focusing on any specific one.

I suppose with each, it was an unexpected result that stemmed from true-life experiences that were itching to get onto paper.

Elizabeth Parker

Author of Finally Home, Final Journey, My Dog Does That!, Evil’s Door, Phobia and Unwanted Dreams

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

